DUCATI TT and F1 FORUM

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Electrical problem
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 8:37 am 

Got an electrical problem but Im no electrician. My bikes been down a while cause of brakes and now they're fixed but there's a new problem. When I turn on the ignition the dash lights come on but when I move the kill switch to run the lights get really dim. When I move the kill switch to off after a few seconds lights get back to normal brightness. The horn beeps a little, the start button kills everything. The headlight works but is really dim. I have recharged the battery twice. I tested the kill switch and it seems to be working right. Both sides of the start button had current which I thought was wrong. Any Ideas? And is there a definitive list of parts interchangeability? I have an 88F1s.

Profile Personal album  

Post subject: Re: Electrical problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:53 am 

Battery's dead.

Profile Personal album  

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 4:28 pm 

It's true, it was a brand new dry cell and it won't fully charge. I got it running but there's no spark to the verticle cylinder. I guess I'll be testing the coil next.

Profile Personal album  

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 5:40 pm 

Also, maybe your major ground point connections need a good cleaning, and all the connections at the starter relay.
Bill

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:24 pm 

I checked the coil of the bad cylinder and I got 5ohms on the primary and 16k on the plug side. This seems ok based on a video I watched . I'm just going to test the good stuff too and see how it compares.

Profile Personal album  

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:31 pm